Skip to main content


SCOE Airs Virtual Celebration for Educators of the Year
Posted 9/30/20

Every year, school districts throughout Solano County nominate one teacher and one classified employee to be recognized as an Educator of the Year. These teachers and paraeducators along with school and district employees all contribute to student achievement, educational innovation, and community involvement in our schools. 

The vdeo highlights that honor each nominee in this year’s virtual celebration are truly heartwarming. Solano County’s certificated and classified employees of the year nominees are all passionate and committed people you have put their colleagues and students first. We are so proud to recognize each honoree with a video celebration of their dedication and hard work.” commented Solano County Superintendent of Schools Lisette Estrella-Henderson.

Today at 3:00 PM, Solano County Office of Education (SCOE) will honor each school district employee nominated for the 2020-2021 Solano County Educators of the Year. Due to COVID-19 the celebration has been prerecorded and will air virtually at 3:00PM on SCOE’s Facebook page and website.

​​​​​​​The celebration will feature video segments of each district Classified School Employee of the Year and Teacher of the Year. Below is a complete list of this year’s district and county nominees. 

District Classified School Employee of the Year Nominees

Susan Wing

School Office Technician

Benicia USD

Susana Perez*

Paraprofessional/Parent Liaison

Dixon USD

Willie Bible

Campus Monitor

Fairfield-Suisun USD

Michael Kohl

Maintenance Custodian

Solano County Office of Education

Pierre Parker

Head Custodian

Vallejo City USD

Laurel Pierson

Secretary IV

Vacaville USD

District Teacher of the Year Nominees

Erin Biber

Special Education (K-5)

Benicia USD

Erin DeWeese

Math and AVID (9-12)

Dixon USD

Louise Craig

2nd Grade

Fairfield-Suisun USD

Katherine Reyes*

Deaf and Hard of Hearing Teacher 

Solano County Office of Education

Michael Howell

Biology & AP Biology (10-12)

Travis USD

Devynne Johnson

4th Grade

Vallejo City USD

Kay Nekota

Physical Education (1-6)

Vacaville USD

SCOE invites Solano County community members to help celebrate the many accomplishments and commitment of these devoted educators.